2024 Visual Arts Achievement Winners Announced

Every February, the Mobile Arts Council hosts the Visual Arts Achievement Program (VAAP) and Young at Art. VAAP is an arts in education program of the Alabama State Council on the Arts, and it awards students in grades 6 through 12 that are participating in arts programs within their academic institutions. Young At Art is a display of elementary visual arts talent (and those ineligible for VAAP) from District 1 schools. Our judge for this year’s VAAP was Wanda Sullivan. All first place and judge’s choice winners will advance to the statewide competition in Montgomery. The show will be available to see during our gallery hours, between 10 AM – 5 PM on weekdays through February 25.

This year, 14 District 1 schools are participating in the competition, including Baker High School, Barton Academy, Bay Minette Middle School, Bayside Academy, Bryant High School, Causey Middle School, Chastang-Fournier School, Cranford Burns Middle School, Mary G. Montgomery High School, Phillips Preparatory School, Robertsdale High School, Spanish Fort High School, St. Paul’s Episcopal School, and Theodore High School. Educators include Amp Up Arts, Cheryl Ankrom, Leigh Brown, Vikki Finch, Carrie Jackson, April Jones, Pamela Sue Jones, Julie Kogon, Christy LeGros, Esther McNellage, Rachel Nease, Kelly Ogburn, Felicia Olds, Sonya Payne, Kellie Ratcliff, Rikki Rhodes, Kristy Snell, Michele Stroecker, Melissa L. Stuart, Darla Wheeler, Lynda Williams, and Amanda Youngblood.

Young at Art has 40 student participants from Bayside Academy, Collins-Rhodes Elementary, Covenant Christian School, E.R. Dickson Elementary School, Foley Elementary School, Indian Springs Elementary School, Pearl Haskew Elementary, Mary B. Austin Elementary School, Meadowlake Elementary, Rockwell Elementary School, Snook Christian Academy, St. Paul’s Episcopal School. Teachers include Amy Hodges, Sarah Lewis, Shannon Nobles, Kellie Ogburn, Lisa O’neill, Cindy Robles, Kristy Snell, Rebecca Wright, and Amanda Youngblood.

District 1 Honorable Mentions (not advancing to state)

Group 1 (Middle School)
Rylee Josey, Misty Midnight, Causey Middle School
Jackson Lindman, Ribbon Reflections, Barton Academy
Shree Kambhatla, Orange Ya Glad for the Disco, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Deanna Chung, Dragon, Cranford Burns Middle School
Emma Haba, Kool Kat, St. Paul’s Episcopal School

Group 2 (High School)
Taylor Yance, Lost, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Olivia Smith, Spark Bird, Baker High School
Emma Atkinson, Cygne Nouveau, Bayside Academy
Cecilia Castronova, Friend, Alma Bryant High School
Amelia Webb, Wizard’s Checkbook, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Eli Williams, The Family Dog, Bayside Academy
Coleman Katie Rosa, Bird Garden, St. Paul’s Episcopal School

Judge’s Choice:

Sophia Pouliot, Trapped, Barton Academy

Serendipity Sylvester, Strung Up, Baker High School

Advancing to State: District 1 First Place Winners

Best of Show: Lilith Shamback, Statue, Baker High School

Group 1 (Middle School)
Painting – Zian Bettis, Wonder, Amp Up Arts, Chastang-Fournier School
Drawing – Levi Simon-Andres, The Window, Phillips Preparatory School
Mixed-Media – Henry Huddleston, Self Portrait, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Craft – Townsend West, Gator Dish, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Photography/New Media – Alice Ogburn, Moonlit, Bayside Academy
Printmaking – Addie Babcock, Reduction Flight, Bayside Academy
Sculpture – Ansleigh Smith, The Geometry of Flowers, Bayside Academy

Group 2 (High School)
Drawing – Stella Duren, Doing the Dishes, Alma Bryant High School
Painting – Annie Midyett, Amorcita, Bayside Academy (featured image)
Mixed-Media – Elin Backman, Frog’s Eye View, Bayside Academy
Craft – Lexi Corely, Lavis, Mary G. Montgomery High School
Photography/New Media – Nina Divittorio, Unexpected Guest, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Printmaking – Donna Hua, Dark of Day, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Sculpture – Nyla Rodrigues, Nurture, St. Paul’s Episcopal School

Leave a Comment