The Artys

The Artys is Mobile’s only awards program that acknowledges the priceless contributions made to the arts and cultural community across all realms of the arts. For eighteen years, Mobile Arts Council has presented these awards to recognize the creative achievements of individuals, organizations, and businesses. Each year members of the community submit nominations, which are then narrowed down to a winner in each category by a panel of arts professionals. The winner of each category is honored at the awards event and presented with the Arty, a limited edition work of art created by a different local artist each year. Our 18th Annual Awards Ceremony date and location are currently in review. Stay tuned for updates soon!


The 17th Annual Artys

Last year's award artist was Mary Elizabeth Kimbrough, and the in-person event date is took place on January 27th at the Steeple on Saint Francis. Congratulations to our honorees!

You can still submit an individual for "The Final Curtain." This portion of the awards program will acknowledge and honor the individuals who have recently passed away (2019-2021). In order to be in included, each individual must have played a role in impacting the arts and cultural community in our area.

Thank You To Our Sponsors



2019 Recipients

Art Educator - Eric Browne

Art Soldier - RSVP of Mobile County

Business - Ashland Gallery

Cultural Innovation - Courtney Dreher Matthews

Danielle Juzan Performing Artist Award- Daniel Mainwaring

Literary Artist - Angela Trigg (Quarles)

Musical Artists - Dr. Robert Holm

Organization - Eastern Shore Art Center

Visual Artist - Mary Elizabeth Kimbrough

Lifetime Achievement - Dr. Bill Barrick

Patron - Lynn Henderson Oldshue


2019 Award by Ardith Goodwin

2018 Recipients

Art Educator - Hosea London

Art Soldier - Sherrick Sandy

Business - Mobile Public Library

Cultural Innovation - Central Arts Collective

Design - Mobile Fashion Week

Literary Artist - Kevin Lee

Organization - Mobile Chamber Music

Performing Artist, Individual - Enen Yu

Performing Artist, Organization - Power Lines Poetry

Visual Artist - Pink/MM Bass

Lifetime Achievement - Excelsior Band

2018 award by Chris Cumbie

2017 Recipients

Visual Artist – Sean Herman

Performing Artist – Lynn Campbell

Arts Educator – Stephen French

Cultural Innovation – Lynn Henderson Oldshue

Design – Patricia Richardson

Literary Artist – Frye Gaillard

Business – Kazoola

Organization – Alabama Contemporary Art Center

Art Soldier – Donna and Joe Camp

Patron – John Thompson

Lifetime Achievement – Charles Smith

2017 award by April Livingston

Thank you to our 2020 Sponsors!


2016 award by Susie Bowman

2016 Recipients

Visual Artist – JD Crowe
Performing Artist – Thomas Rowell
Art Educator – Paige Vitullli
Artistic Innovation – Frye Building Project
Artistic Design – Ron Barrett
Literary Artist – John Sledge
Business – Windcreek Hospitality
Organization – Mobile Museum of Art
Art Soldier – Steven Alsip
Patron – Jake Peavy
Lifetime Achievement – Tut Riddick
2015 award by Rene Culler

2015 Recipients

Visual Artist – Ardith Goodwin
Performing Artist – Stacey Driskell
Art Educator – Nancy Raia
Artistic Innovation - 1065 Music Festival
Business – Bienville Books
Organization – Downtown Mobile Alliance
Mover and Shaker – Henry and Kate Seawell
Lifetime Achievement – Charlie Smoke
2014 award by Kate Seawell

2014 Recipients

Artist – Jason Guynes

Business – PNC Bank

Educator – Ben Harper

Organization – Mobile Ballet

Patron – Harold and Carlos Parkman

Volunteer – Mike Box

Emerging Artist – Lucy Gafford

Lifetime Achievement – John and Mickey Cleverdon

2013 award by Rachel Wright

2013 Recipients

Artist – Mike McKee
Business – Crescent Theater
Educator – Lori Bilbrey Vaghefi
Organization – Mobile Symphony Orchestra
Patron – Dr. Thomas Rosandich
Volunteer – Dan Silver
Emerging Artist – Riley Brenes
Lifetime Achievement – Carmen Brown
2012 award by Wanda Sullivan

2012 Recipients

Artist – Scott and Sarah Wright

Business – wellbornIdeas

Educator – Carolyn Greene

Organization – Spring Hill Medical Center Auxiliary

Patron – Gordon and Geri Moulton

Volunteer – Janetta Whitt-Mitchell

2011 award by Joe Hobbs

2011 Recipients

Artist – Rachel Wright

Business – Black Classics Book & Gifts

Educator – Orren Kickliter

Organization – MOJO (Mystic Order of the Jazz Obsessed)

Patron – Catt Sirten

Volunteer – Martha LoCicero

2010 award by Wayne McNeil and Paul Moxon Photograph by Tom Loehr

2010 Recipients

Artist – Wanda Sullivan

Business – The Blind Mule

Educator – Jane Shaw

Organization – Gulf Coast Ethnic and Heritage Jazz Festival

Patron – Herndon Inge III

Volunteer – Laureen Lynn

2009 award by Brad Robertson

2009 Recipients

Artist – Charles Smith

Business – Gallery 54

Educator – Danny and Pam Mollise

Organization – Azalea City Quilters’ Guild

Patron – Arlene Mitchell

Volunteer – Elmo Hammer

2008 award by Charles Smith Photograph by Mark Calametti

2008 Recipients

Artist – Kate Seawell

Business – Evonik - Degussa

Educator – Nancy Raia

Organization – Mobile Art Association

Patron – Yvonne Kalen

Volunteer – Marian Blake

2007 award by Casey Downing, Jr. Photograph by David Trimmier

2007 Recipients

Artist - Lil Greenwood

Business - Alabama Power Company

Educator - Charles "Mack" Clark

Organization - Joe Jefferson Players

Volunteer - Joe Riemer

2006 award by John B. Howell III Photograph by Mark Calametti

2006 Recipients

Artist - Dr. Sue Walker

Business - The Chesser Gallery

Educator - Dr. Joseph Mitchell

Organization - WHIL-FM

Patron - Palmer Bedsole

Volunteer - Celia Mann Baehr

2005 award by Bertice McPherson Photograph by Amanda Napper

2005 Recipients

Artist – Casey Downing, Jr.

Business - Ciba

Educator – Barbara Laurendine

Organization – Mobile Opera

Patron – Dr. Sam Eichold

Volunteer – Patrice Baur

2004 award by Tony Wright

2004 Recipients

Artist – Ira Swingle, Jr.

Business - Mobile Register

Educator – Christy LeGros

Organization – Theatre 98

Patron – Sybil H. Smith Charitable Trust

Volunteer – Jane Williamson