Mobile Symphony Orchestra: Beethoven & Blue Jeans

Loading Map....

Date(s) - March 13, 2022
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

The Saenger Theatre


The orchestra’s annual casual concert, Beethoven & Blue Jeans, is back March
12 & 13, 2022, with Beethoven’s brilliant Symphony No. 8. Pianist Charlie Albright
returns to perform the Grieg Concerto.

“After a long year and a half, the Mobile Symphony is thrilled to finally return to
the stage at full force,” MSO Music Director Scott Speck says. “This means so much to
us – and every moment will be suffused with extra gratitude for being together again.”

Speck describes the season as a return to bigger, bolder music after a year of
smaller orchestras on a socially distanced stage: “We’re filling the season with the huge
pieces we’ve missed playing – including Tchaikovsky’s spectacular Fourth Symphony,
Grieg’s virtuosic Piano Concerto, a barn-burner of a violin concerto by Saint-Saëns,
Beethoven’s Eighth, and a whole concert devoted to John Williams,” he explains. “But
we’re also going to exciting new places – offering a fanfare by Adolphus Hailstork, an
overture by José Mauricio Nunez García and a brilliant new work by Jessie

For the season opening concert (Oct. 2 & 3), seats and rows will be blocked to
accommodate social distancing. Masks covering nose and mouth are required.
Performances will be approximately one hour without intermission. The MSO will
review this policy on a concert-by-concert basis, and updates will be posted on the

Six-concert season memberships are $102-$408. Tickets to all individual
performances including special events are on sale now for $20-$89. Tickets can be
purchased online, by phone at 251-432-2010 or at the symphony box office, 257 Dauphin
Street. Student tickets are $10. Through the MSO Big Red Ticket program sponsored by
the Alabama Power Foundation, students in grades K-12 can attend any of the season’s
six classical Sunday performances free when accompanied by a paying adult (excludes
special events Hit-Makers and Joy to the World). More details can be found online at